From Here to Home (Bostwick)

From Here to Home (Bostwick)

“From Here to Home” is the first book in a new series by Marie Bostwick, but its main character will be familiar to those who have read her Cobbled Quilt series.  Mary Dell Templeton, the main character in this new series is the best friend of Evelyn Dixon, the main character from the Cobbled Quilts series.  Mary Dell is talked about and makes some appearances in that series, but a reader does not have to have read that series to have this series make sense.

This book does includes more swearing than I remember her other books having, but I have to say it didn’t bother me …. whenever there were swear words (and by today’s standards they would be considered those of a milder nature), they fit …. they truly felt like something the character would really have said.

I loved this book!  This is the first book in a long while that I really could not wait to get back in the car and listen to!  In fact I even listened some at other times (something I don’t normally do with my audio books)!  I think readers who enjoy Debbie Macomber, Jennifer Chiaverinni or Susan Wiggs would enjoy books by Marie Bostwick.

From Here to Home Book Cover From Here to Home
Too Much, Texas #1
Mary Bostwick
Fiction
Kensington
March 29, 2016
eAudio (Hoopla)
352 (paperback)

Mary Dell Templeton prefers the quiet charms of Too Much to the bright lights of Dallas any day. She's relieved to be moving back to her hometown--and bringing her cable TV show, "Quintessential Quilting," with her. There are just a couple of wrinkles in her plan. Her son, Howard, who is her talented co-host and color consultant, and happens to have Down syndrome, wants to stay in Dallas and become more independent. Meanwhile, Mary Dell's new boss hopes to attract a different demographic--by bringing in a younger co-host. What Holly Silva knows about quilting wouldn't fill a thimble, but she's smart and ambitious. Her career hinges on outshining the formidable Mary Dell in order to earn her own show. Yet as Holly adapts to small-town living and begins a new romance, and Mary Dell considers rekindling an old one, the two find unlikely kinship. For as Mary Dell knows, the women of Too Much have a knack for untangling the knottiest problems when they work together. And sometimes the pattern for happiness is as simple and surprising as it is beautiful.

Comments are closed.